The earliest ages of man are known as prehistory, because our
                                       knowledge of them is limited to a few archaeological finds.  These
                                       objects, paintings, and burials provoke a lot of speculation, but few
                                       facts can be presented.

                                       Based on artifacts and guesswork, however, archaeologists and
                                       historians divide prehistory into two time periods:  Paleolithic and
                                      Neolithic.  The Paleolithic period is said to represent the dawning of
                                       culture and civilization. Men (and women) are believed to have
                                       roamed the earth in bands, hunting animals and gathering whatever
                                       herbs and fruit grew in that area.  For obvious reasons, this culture
                                       is called a hunting-gathering society. Two major discoveries --
                                      The Venus of Willendorf and  the Lascaux Cave Paintings define our
                                       knowledge of the era.

                                       The Neolithic era is believed to have brought about notable
                                       changes in the human way of life. Hunting-gathering societies began
                                        to settle in specific areas as agriculture advanced and animals were
                                        domesticated.  Pottery was more widely used, and bronze tools
                                        replaced stone ones, allowing wide expansion.


Chapter 1 Terms